Western Engineering is proud to honour top students with awards and medals at the annual Fall Awards Ceremony and Graduation Awards Ceremony.

Please note that the above and below awards information is updated annually in July/August. For more information, please contact Office of the Dean.

Additional awards and scholarships from Western and abroad:

CEMF Claudette MacKay-Lassonde Award

The late Claudette MacKay-Lassonde , P.Eng., was a pioneer for women and a leader in the engineering community. Founder of CEMF, she built the Foundation along with other concerned professional engineers in response to the killing of 14 women engineering students at École Polytechnique in 1989. She held degrees in chemical engineering, nuclear engineering and business and was passionate about supporting women in engineering.

This is an ambassadorial award and applicants must demonstrate they are leaders, ambassadors for the profession and serve as role models for other women who dream of becoming engineers. (More)

Western Engineering Recipients:

  • Elena Uchiteleva – Electrical Engineering (2017)

Graduate Student Teaching Awards

Each year, students and course instructors are able to recognize outstanding graduate student Teaching Assistants by nominating them for a Graduate Student Teaching Award. Twenty awards of $500 are presented annually to graduate students, divided equally across the divisions of the School of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies. (More)

Western Engineering Recipient(s):

  • Dave Tripp (2016/2017)
  • Abdallah Moubayed (2016/2017)
  • Thomas Lardner (2016/2017)
  • David Allison (2010/11)
  • Md Jahidur Rahman (2010/11)
  • ASM Jahirul Islam Mazumder (2010/11)
  • Ryan van der Zanden (2009/10)
  • David Allison (2009/10)
  • Shahram Amirnia (2008/09)
  • Mhammado Sayem Mozumder (2008/09)
  • Rizwan Tejpar (2008/09)
  • Shahria Alam (2007/08)
  • Jesus Moreira (2007/08)
  • Enrique Salaices (2007/08)
  • Aaron Ortiz-Gomez (2005/06)
  • Faheem Ahmed (2004/05)
  • Jason Teixeira (2004/05)
  • Lou Hagey (2000/01)
  • Hadeel Ibrahim (1998/99)
  • Hadeel Ibrahim (1997/98)
  • Kai Jarosch (1994/95)
  • Brad Young (1993/94)
  • Owen Steele (1992/93)
  • Jesse Shen (1991/92)
  • B. Mylelville (1989/90)

Honorable Howard G. Ferguson Award

The Honorable Howard G. Ferguson Award is given at graduation to recognize a student who has shown the highest achievement during his or her university career in athletics, scholarship and university life. Candidates for the Honorable Howard G. Ferguson Award must be able to demonstrate excellence within the intercollegiate athletic program at Western, be registered as a full-time student, with at least a “B” average in the previous year’s work and completion of at least three years of full-time study at Western or one of the affiliated colleges, and exhibit significant contributions to university life.

Western Engineering Recipient(s):

  • Reid Halpenny – Civil and Environmental Engineering (2010)

National Scholars

The National Scholarship Program is Western's most prestigious award for first-year undergraduate students, designed to recognize all-round excellence. They are awarded on the basis of outstanding academic performance to candidates who demonstrate ability for creative and innovative thought and a passion for the pursuit of learning.

National Scholarships also recognize exceptional achievement in extracurricular activities such as the arts and athletics. A special emphasis is placed on a candidate’s commitment to community service through ongoing contributions to school and community life. (More)

Western Engineering Recipient(s):

  • Anish Srinivasan Naidu, Faculty Entrance Scholarship (2010)
  • Lauren Cuthbertson, Dr. D. Carlton Williams Presidents’ Entrance Scholarship (2010)
  • Kaiz Alarakyia, F.K. Ashbaugh President’s Scholarship (2010)
  • Kevin Zhou, G. Edward Hall President’s Scholarship (2008)
  • Julien Lapointe, Richard and Jean Ivey Family President’s Scholarship (2008)
  • Mixime Lafortune, President’s Scholarship (2007)
  • Jonathan Mcleod, Dr. D. Carlton Williams Presidents’ Entrance Scholarship (2007)
  • Dustin Hughes, F.K. Ashbaugh President’s Scholarship (2007)
  • Samantha Barnes, Faculty Entrance Scholarship (2007)
  • Paola Soriano, E.V. Buchanan Faculty of Engineering Science Entrance Scholarship (2006)
  • Robyn Hicock, Faculty Entrance Scholarship (2006)
  • Marck Cicero, Faculty Entrance Scholarship (2006)
  • David Basu-Roy, Faculty Entrance Scholarship (2006)
  • Julie Ladiges, Presidents’ Entrance Scholarship (2005)
  • Ryan Katchky, Faculty Entrance Scholarship (2005)
  • Spencer Hughes, F.K. Ashbaugh President’s Scholarship (2005)
  • Nicole Feldman, E.V. Buchanan Faculty of Engineering Science Entrance Scholarship (2005)
  • Pencilla Lang, President’s Entrance Scholarship (2004)
  • Elizabeth Bowering, E.V. Buchanan Faculty of Engineering Science Entrance Scholarship (2004)
  • Federico Berruti, G. Edward Hall President’s Scholarship (2004)
  • Samir Raza, President’s Entrance Scholarship (2003)
  • Daniel Polakoff, F.K. Ashbaugh President’s Scholarship (2003)
  • Katherine Fay, E.V. Buchanan Faculty of Engineering Science Entrance Scholarship (2003)
  • Joelle Faulkner, E.V. Buchanan Faculty of Engineering Science Entrance Scholarship (2003)
  • Stephen Annand, Faculty Entrance Scholarship (2003)

Rhodes Scholars

Arguably the world's most prestigious and best known student award, the Rhodes Scholarships were initiated after the death of Cecil Rhodes in 1902, and bring outstanding students from many countries around the world to the University of Oxford. (More)

Western Engineering Recipient(s):


  • Brian Coulter, BESc, HBA 2009
  • Joelle Faulkner, BESc, MBA 2008

Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship

Canada's most prestigious scholarship for doctoral students, Vanier scholars receive $50,000 annually for up to three years, and each was chosen as a result of their demonstrated leadership skills and high standard of scholarly achievement in graduate studies in the social sciences and humanities, natural sciences and engineering, and health research. The program is administered jointly by Canada’s three research granting agencies: the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR). (More)

Western Engineering recipients:

  • Dibakar Mondal - Chemical and Biochemical Engineering (2014)
  • Jonathan McLeod - Biomedical Engineering (2013)
  • Daniel Langohr - Biomedical Engineering (2012)
  • Ahmed Hamada - Civil and Environmental Engineering (2011)
  • Federico Berruti – Chemical and Biochemical Engineering (2010)
  • Lindsay Mathew - Biomedical Engineering (2010)