Please note that the below award information is updated annually in July/August. For more information, please contact Office of the Dean.

L.S. Lauchland Engineering Alumni Medal

Western Engineering initiated the L.S. Lauchland Engineering Alumni Medal in 1976 to mark the retirement of Professor L. Stuart Lauchland, past President of the A.P.E.O. The Committee inaugurated a series of medals to be presented annually unless it decides that in a particular year no suitable nominations have been received. Western Engineering alumni, faculty and staff are invited to submit nominations for this award each year.

Past recipients:

  • 2020 Tim Kwan, BESc'73
  • 2019 Tony Vysniauskas, BESc'74, MESc'76
  • 2018 Jeff Westeinde, BESc'89
  • 2017 Brian Bonnick, BESc'81
  • 2016 Marvin DeVries, MEng'83
  • 2015 Michael Andrade, BESc’86
  • 2014 Bruce Ross, BESc'85
  • 2013 Hanny Hassan, BESc'64
  • 2012 James Douglas (J.D.) Hole, BESc'67
  • 2011 Keith Stevens, BESc'70, MESc'71
  • 2009 Sarah Shortreed, BESc'89
  • 2008 Catherine Karakatsanis, BESc'83 MESc'91
  • 2007 Boris Jackman, BESc'72
  • 2006 Charles Ruigrok, BESc'78, MESc'84
  • 2005 Keith Zerebecki, BESc'72, MEng.'73
  • 2004 G.S. Peter Castle, BESc'61, PhD'69
  • 2003 Ted Aziz, BESc'60
  • 2002 Douglas Muzyka, BESc'77, MESc.'78, PhD'85
  • 2001 John Jardine, BESc'65
  • 1999 John Westeinde, BESc'62
  • 1998 Henry Yip, BESc'73
  • 1997 Jack McBain, BESc'66
  • 1994 Bill Etherington, BESc'63
  • 1991 Ron Yamada, BESc'64
  • 1990 Brian Hewat, BESc'59
  • 1989 John Thompson, BESc'66
  • 1986 Peter C. Maurice, BESc'60
  • 1984 John R. Grace, BESc'65
  • 1982 Steven Killing, BESc'72
  • 1981 Carl Erik Kohn, BESc'64
  • 1979 Michael Owen Toll, BESc'68
  • 1977 Ross Leonard Judd, BESc'58

Western University Awards

Western's Alumni Association administers an annual awards program that recognizes alumni who have made outstanding contributions to their professions or communities. The accomplishments of Western's alumni around the world bring credit and recognition to their Alma Mater. In return, the Alumni Awards of Merit program seeks to identify exceptional alumni and celebrate their achievements.

An Awards Selection Committee carefully reviews all nominations for the four prestigious awards. Recipients are invited to attend an awards banquet during Homecoming weekend to be recognized by Western and fellow alumni. Each receives an elegant Alumni Award of Merit recognition piece as a keepsake and their name is listed permanently on a plaque in Alumni Hall.

Dr. Ivan Smith Award

The Dr. Ivan Smith Award is named in honour of the Alumni Association's first president, who was also a pioneer in cancer research and treatment. This award is Alumni Western's highest tribute, recognizing significant and sustained contributions to the Alumni Association, Western University and society. (more)

Past recipient(s):

  • 2003 - Peter C. Maurice, BESc’60

Professional Achievement Award

The Professional Achievement Award recognizes superior achievement in a professional field. The recipient is a role model for newcomers and sets standards of excellence to which others can aspire. (more)

Past recipient(s):

    • 2004 - Alan Macnab, BESc'72
    • 2003 - Dan Thorsley, BSc’65, PhD’72
    • 2002 - Leo Behie, BEng'68, MEng'69, PhD'72
    • 2001 - John Ross Grace, BESc'65

Young Alumni Award

The Young Alumni award recognizes significant contributions by an individual in their field of endeavor, whether through professional achievement or community service. The recipient is aged 40 or under, and sets an inspirational example for future young alumni. (more)

Past recipient(s):

  • 2003 - Jeffrey Westeinde, BESc’98
  • 1999 - Sarah Shortreed, BESc'89
  • 1995 - Stewart T. Lockhart, BESc'87