29th annual Lynda Shaw Memorial Lecture

The Lynda Shaw Memorial Distinguished Lecture Series was established in memory of Lynda Shaw, a third-year mechanical engineering student at Western who was murdered near Highway 401 in 1990.

Lynda was a graduate of Centennial Secondary School in Brampton, ON where she received an Ontario Scholarship and was the winner of the school’s proficiency award in Mathematics and Accounting. Lynda entered Western with an Admission Scholarship in 1987 and served for two years on the Mechanical Engineering Club Executive.

2020 Lecture

cody-150x150.pngGina Cody, Engineer, Business Leader, Philanthropist

Date: Thursday, March 5, 2020
Time: 12:30 p.m.
Location: ACEB 1410

More Information

Past Distinguished Speakers

  • Vivian Yoanidis, Director, Diversity & Inclusion at Hydro One
  • Mary Wells, Dean of College of Engineering and Physical Sciences, University of Guelph
  • Linda Hasenfratz, Chief Executive Officer, Linamar Corporation
  • Mary Crossan, Professor of Strategic Leadership, Distinguished University Professor at the Ivey Business School
  • Dawn Tattle, P.Eng., President of Anchor Shoring and Caissons Ltd., Toronto
  • Cristina Amon, Dean, Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering and Alumni Chair Professor in Mechanical and Industrial Engineering at the University of Toronto
  • Kim WoodhouseDean, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science at Queen's University
  • Catherine Mavriplis, Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering, University of Ottawa and NSERC/Pratt & Whitney Canada Chair for Women in Science and Engineering for the Ontario Region
  • Michelle Chislett, BESc'03, (MBA York), Vice President, Solar Development of International Power Canada, Inc.
  • Catherine Karakatsanis, MESc, PEng, FEC, President of Professional Engineers Ontario and Senior Vice President of Morrison Hershfield Limited
  • Dr. Busch-Vishniac, Professor, Provost & Vice-President (Academic), McMaster University
  • Ms. Jennifer MacDonald, President, Cenabal Gourmet Organics
  • Dr. Molly Shoichet, Department of Chemical Engineering & Applied Chemistry, University of Toronto
  • Mayor Anne Marie DeCicco, Mayor of the City of London
  • Dr. Maria Klawe, Dean of Engineering and Professor of Computer Science at Princeton University
  • Hon. Dianne Cunningham, MPP – Minister of Training, Colleges & Universities and MPP for London North Centre
  • Dr. Martha C. Piper, President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of British Columbia
  • Dr. Monique (Aubry) Frize, NSERC-Nortel Chair for Women in Science and Engineering Carleton University
  • Ms. Carol Stephenson, President and CEO, Lucent Technologies Canada
  • Dr. Abbyann Lynch, President, Associate Medical Services Incorporated
  • Maureen Kempston-Darkes, President and General Manager, GM Canada Limited
  • Dr. Bjarni Tryggvason, Canadian Astronaut
  • Claudette Mackay-Lassonde, Chair and CEO, Enghouse Systems
  • Nuala Beck, Practicing Economist and Author
  • Maurice Strong, Chief Executive Officer, Ontario Hydro
  • Dr. Roberta Bondar, Canadian Astronaut
  • Dr. Marsha Hanen, President and Vice-Chancellor, the University of Winnipeg
  • Dr. Geraldine Kenny-Wallace, President and Vice-Chancellor, McMaster University