Jeff Westeinde recognized with honorary degree

Jeff Westeinde, BESc'89, was conferred with an honorary degree of Doctor of Laws at a convocation ceremony at Alumni Hall.

Jeff-Westeinde-thumb.jpgWesteinde is an award-winning entrepreneur, active impact investor and visionary leader in sustainable engineering. He heads a group of companies dedicated to addressing some of Canada’s most complex environmental challenges and creates some of the country’s most sustainable communities.  As a partner at THEIA Partners and President of Zibi Canada, Westeinde is on the forefront of developing one the world’s most sustainable developments, serving as a global model for community transformation.

Western Engineering Dean Ken Coley spoke at his convocation ceremony.

"Jeff is not just an outstanding engineer but a leader in sustainable development and innovation,” he said. "He embodies the spirit of Western’s values, inspires future generations of engineers, and is impacting the energy sector with strategies for a better and healthier planet with zero-carbon, zero-waste and net-zero operations."

Westeinde's entrepreneurial spirit and passion for engineering have been recognized through numerous awards, including the Ontario Professional Engineers ‘Engineering Medal for Entrepreneurship’ in 2020. 

He has been a fervent mentor for the next generation of engineers, significantly impacting local businesses, municipalities, and indigenous communities. His leadership in this regard has been felt across various sectors, from industry to government. 

Westeinde's ties to Western run deep. He has been a member of the Advisory Council of Western Engineering and has received both Western’s Young Alumni Award of Merit in 2002 and the L.S. Lauchland Engineering Alumni Medal in 2018. 

His contributions to the engineering community, sustainable development, and mentorship, combined with his visionary leadership, innovative spirit and commitment to creating a better future, make him truly deserving of this honour.

Read more about this year’s honorary degree recipients.