Graduate Coordinator Joanna Blom awarded for outstanding achievement


Western Engineering News | April 29, 2019

The Sharon A. Ling Award of Excellence for Outstanding Achievement by a Staff Member is presented annually to a Western Engineering employee to recognize their exceptional long-term contributions in support of the academic, research, innovation, public service or administrative missions of the Faculty of Engineering.

This year’s recipient, Joanna Blom, Graduate Coordinator in the Department of Mechanical and Materials Engineering, received overwhelming support from faculty, staff and students as the most deserving of the award.

“I am touched and grateful in receiving this award,” said Blom. “I have always said, ‘you have to enjoy your job in order to do a good job,’ and consider myself truly fortunate that I really enjoy my job. Working with a great team of faculty members, graduate students and colleagues in Engineering makes it all worthwhile.”

Blom has been with the Faculty of Engineering for over 26 years, joining the Chemical and Biochemical Engineering (CBE) Department in 1993, and working in the Mechanical and Materials Engineering (MME) Department since March, 2011.

Blom received a co-nomination from MME professor and department chair Dr. Tony Straatman and CBE professor and department chair Dr. Ajay Ray, who both praised Blom for her professionalism, dedication, compassion and attention to detail.

Straatman noted that, as the longest standing Graduate Coordinator in Engineering, Blom is often sought out by other graduate coordinators across campus to provide advice on student assessment, finances and SGPS guidelines. 

“I believe Joanna is truly a treasure to our faculty,” added Ray. “She never ceases to amaze me and is a positive role model for Western employees, helping everyone with relentless enthusiasm, which go far and beyond what her job entails.”

Blom will receive the Sharon A. Ling Award of Excellence for Outstanding Achievement by a Staff Member at the Western Engineering Faculty and Staff Awards Luncheon on May 22, 2019.