Chemical and Biochemical EngineeringWestern Engineering

2016 Archive

Congratulations to Mohamed Kaddour!

Mohamed, supervised by Dr. Anand Prakash, successfully defended his MESc examination entitled, "Esterification of free fatty acid by selected homogeneous and solid acid catalysts" on Thursday, September 8th, 2016. From everyone in the Chemical and Biochemical Engineering department, congratulations again to Mohamed and good luck in your next step as a PhD student!

Congratulations to Dr. Yira Aponte!

Yira, supervised by Dr. Hugo de Lasa, successfully defended her PhD examination entitled, "Sulfur species selective adsorption using a new offretite based additive" on Wednesday, November 30th, 2016. Congratulations again to Dr. Yira Aponte.

Congratulations to Dr. Adnan Khan!

Adnan, supervised by Dr. Amarjeet Bassi and Dr. Lars Rehmann, successfully defended his PhD examination entitled, "Fate of benzalkonium chlorides in natural environment and treatment processes" on Thursday, November 17th, 2016. Congratulations again to Dr. Adnan Khan.

Congratulations to Dr. Tahereh Sarchami!

Tahareh, supervised by Dr. Lars Rehmann, successfully defended their PhD examination entitled, "Co-substrate fermentation of Jerusalem artichoke tubers and crude glycerol to butanol with integrated product recovery" on Thursday, November 10th, 2016. Congratulations again to Dr. Tahereh Sarchami.

2016 Research Bridges Winners!

Below is a list of the winners from each presenting category:


Winner: William Cooke, "Development of Ultrasonic Techniques for Characterization of Liquid Mixtures"
Runner-up: Jenna Skieneh, "Solvate and Cocrystal Formation to Enhance Water Solubility of Active Pharmaceutical Ingredients"


Winner: Manuella Oliveira, "Magnetic Stimulation on the Growth of the Microalga Nannochloropsis Oculata"
Runner-up: Bilal Al-Bataina, "Control of Biofilm Formation Using Norspermidine"


Winner: Adnan Khan, "Plant Uptake of Benzalkonium Chloride and a Possible Remediation Using Advanced Oxidation as Pre-treatment"
Runner-up: Stanislav Ivanov, "Multi-Objective Optimization of the Industrial Ammonia Converter"

2015-16 Best Graduate Teaching Assistant

The following students have been selected by CBE/GPE Undergraduate Students as best GTA for the academic year 2015-16:

Betty Li (GPE 2213 Green Chemistry I)
Anna Kornmuller (CBE 2221 Fluid Flow)
Jesus Fabricio Guayaquil-Sosa (CBE 3318 Chemical Process Simulation)
Kyriakos Manoli (CBE 3324 Mass Transfer Operations)
Adrianna Mika (CBE 4493 Polymer Engineering)
Stanislav Ivanov (CBE 4497 Chemical Process Plant Design )

Maurice Bergougnou Teaching Award for 2015-16

CBE/GPE Undergraduate students have voted Dr. John Trant (for CBE 2206 Industrial Organic Chemistry I), Dr. Dominic Pjontek (for CBE 3322 Heat Transfer Operations) and Dr. Shahzad Barghi (for CBE 4497 Chemical Process Plant Design) as best Instructors for the year!

Congratulations for Successfully Renewing NSERC Discovery Grants

Congratulations to Dr. Paul Charpentier, Dr. Hugo de Lasa, Dr. Beth Gillies, Dr. Ajay K. Ray, Dr. Sohrab Rohani and Dr. Jin Zhang for being successful in renewing their NSERC Discovery grant for the next 5 years (April, 2016 – March 2021).

Congratulations to Dr. Jesse Zhu

Dr. Zhu has been selected as this year's recipient of the Helmuth Prize for Achievement in Research. This prestigious Western award recognizes and celebrates outstanding research achievements of Western’s most distinguished faculty members.

Congratulations to Dr. Cedric Briens

Dr. Cedric Briens was successful in receiving the NSERC RTI grant for “Multiphase Jiggled Bed Reactor”. Co-applicants: Franco Berruti, Dominic Pjontek, Charles Xu, and Chao Zhang


Congratulations to the winners of our 2016 Undergraduate Capstone Design Project Competition!

Fifteen teams of 4th year undergraduate students in CBE and GPE presented their design projects in the Chemical & Biochemical Processes, Fuel & Energy, and Waste Treatment & Environmental categories at the 11th Annual Capstone Design Competition at the Western Sarnia-Lambton Research Park held on March 24, 2016.

The winning groups will receive $1800 for first place and $1400 for second place. To see the list of winners click here!

Throughout the event's 11 year history, over 568 students have participated, presenting more than 155 projects. 131 sponsorships with a total value of $130,350 have been presented. This year, Capstone sponsorships totaling $11,500 were generously provided by: Western Sarnia-Lambton Research Park; Imperial Oil; Bluewater Power; WorleyParsons; Suncor Energy; SNC Lavalin; Nova Chemicals; Lehder Environmental Services; Pollutech Enviroquatics Limited; CF Industries; Western Research Parks; and Ontario Power Generation.

Congratulations to Dr. Mita Ray!

The Department of Chemical & Biochemical Engineering would like to congratulate Dr. Mita Ray on being the recipient of the Engineering Award for Achievement in Research.

The Engineering Award for Achievement in Research is presented annually to recognize the outstanding research contributions of a faculty member in Western Engineering.

Congratulations to Dr. Jose Herrera on receiving the R. Mohan Mathur Award for Excellence in Teaching!

The R. Mohan Mathur Award for Excellence in Teaching is presented annually to an outstanding Western Engineering faculty member to recognize his or her exceptional contributions to University teaching and the promotion of academic excellence amongst our students.