Plenary Speakers (CSME Track)

Peter Walker, New York University

Dr. Peter Walker has completed a PhD at the University of Leeds.  Since then he has been an active participant in the field of biomechanics of joints and the design of joint replacements, with a major emphasis on the knee. He has collaborated with surgeons and bioengineers at renowned institutions, including the Hospital for Special Surgery, Howmedica (Stryker), Brigham & Women’s Hospital, Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital, University College London, and currently at New York University Langone Orthopaedic Hospital.  He has co-authored over 300 articles with almost 12,000 citations.  The basic research has contributed to innovative ideas for total knee design, while many of the test machines and methodologies have been emulated by other labs. Dr. Walker has been a co-designer of several successful total knee systems, the most notable being the Total Condylar, Graduated Knee System, Kinematic & Kinemax, Smiles Bone Tumor System, NexGen and Persona. In 2018, Dr. Walker was chosen as the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement award by The Knee Society, a high honor only given every two years.



Andy Xueliang Sun, University of Western Ontario

Dr. Andy (Xueliang) Sun is a Full Professor and senior Canada Research Chair (Tier I) for the development of nanomaterials for clean energy, at the University of Western Ontario, Canada. Dr. Sun received his Ph.D degree in Materials Chemistry at the University of Manchester, UK, in 1999. Dr. Sun’s research is focused on advanced nanostructured materials for energy conversion and storage including fuel cells and Li batteries. Dr. Sun was named as Web of Science "Highly Cited Researchers" in 2018 by Clarivate Analytics. Dr. Sun is an author and co-author of over 370 refereed-journals (e.g. Nature Energy, Nature Communications, Advanced Materials, J. Am. Chem. Soc., Angew. Chem., Nano Letter, Energy & Environmental Science) with citations of over 20,000 times and H-index of 72. He edited 3 books and published 16 book chapters as well as filed 18 US patents. He has given more than 120 plenary/keynote/invited talks in international conferences, symposia and workshops. Dr. Sun is actively collaborating with industries and government labs such as Ballard Power Systems, General Motors, Lithium Phostech Inc., 3M, and GLABAT Solid-State Battery Inc. He also serves as an Editor-in-Chief of “Electrochemical Energy Review” under Spring-Nature and an Associate Editor for Frontier of Energy Storage (2013-present). Dr. Sun received various awards such as Early Researcher Award (2006), Canada Research Chair (2007, 2013) and University Faculty Scholar Award (2010), Western Engineering Prize for Achievement in Research (2013), Fellow of Royal Society of Canada (2016), Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering (2016), Professional Achievement Awards from Cross-cultural Professionals Association of Canada (CPAC, 2016), Award for Research Excellence in Materials Chemistry Winner from Canada Chemistry Society (2018) and Award of Merit of the Federation of Chinese Canadian Professionals (2018). Dr. Sun is a Vice-Chairman of our Board Committee in the International Academy of Electrochemical Energy Science (IAOEES).



Ruxu Du, South China University of Technology

Dr. Ruxu Du has received his Ph.D. degree from the University of Michigan in 1989. He has taught at the University of Windsor, in Windsor, Ontario, Canada, the University of Miami, in Coral Gables, Florida, USA, and the Chinese University of Hong Kong, in Hong Kong SAR. He has built several institutes, including the Institute of Precision Engineering of in the Chinese University of Hong Kong, and Guangzhou Chinese Academy of Sciences Institute of Advanced Technology. Currently, he is a Professor and the founding Dean of S. M. Wu School of Intelligent Engineering in the South China University of Technology. His area of research include: design and manufacturing, as well as robotics and automation. He has published over 450 papers in various academic journals and international conferences. He is the associate editor / the members of editorial board of six international journals. He has received a number of awards including Fellow of Canadian Academy of Engineering; Fellow of SME (Society of Manufacturing Engineers); Fellow of ASME (Society of American Mechanical Engineers); Fellow of HKIE (Hong Kong Institute of Engineers).