Engineering Now .: Volume 3 - Edition 2 .: September 2006

A wet and wild Homecoming Weekend

No sun, no problem: Engineering student Imran Atcha drives the SunStang Solar car in the Homecoming parade, using battery power because of the rain. Photo by Dave Chidley, The London Free Press

Even rain couldn't damper the spirits of Western Engineering alumni as they attended the Faculty's annual Homecoming reception during the day and the Annual Alumni Dinner in the evening.

Alumni from all decades attended the annual engineering reception Saturday, September 30, before heading over to T.D. Waterhouse Stadium to watch the football game. In attendance at the engineering reception was Western Engineering alum and L.S. Lauchland Award winner, Mr. Charles Ruigrok .

Mr. Ruigrok, BESc ’78, MESc ‘84, and Chief Executive Officer of Syncrude Canada Ltd., was presented with the prestigious L.S. Lauchland Engineering Alumni Medal for his many accomplishments and contributions to the profession of engineering, Western Engineering and the community. Dr. Paul Davenport, President, The University of Western Ontario and Dean Franco Berruti presented Charles with the award at the annual engineering Homecoming dinner Saturday evening at The Hilton Hotel.

After the Lauchland Award presentation, alumni and guests enjoyed a delicious dinner and a Green Building presentation by Dr. Ernest Yanful, Civil and Environmental Engineering Department Chair. Sticking with theme of "Western Engineering Goes Green," all dinner guests received a seedling to plant in their garden to remember Homecoming 2006.

The L.S. Lauchland Award was initiated in 1976 to mark the retirement of Professor L. Stuart Lauchland, past President of the A.P.E.O., the Committee inaugurated a series of medals to be presented annually unless it decides that in a particular year no suitable nominations have been received.

Click here for photos from Homecoming 2006...

The medal has been awarded 18 times to date to the following recipients:
1977 Dr. Ross Leonard Judd, BESc'58
1979 Dr. Michael Owen Toll, BESc'68
1981 Mr. Carl Erik Kohn, BESC'64
1982 Mr. Steven Killing, BESc'72
1984 Dr. John R. Grace, BESc'65
1986 Mr. Peter C. Maurice, BESc'60
1989 Mr. John Thompson, BESc'66
1990 Mr. Brian Hewat, BESc'59
1991 Mr. Ron Yamada, BESc'64
1994 Mr. Bill Etherington, BESc'63
1997 Mr. Jack McBain, BESc'66
1998 Mr. Henry Yip, BESc '73
1999 Mr. John Westeinde, BESc '62
2001 Mr. John Jardine, BESc '65
2002 Mr. Douglas Muzyka, BESc ‘77
2003 Mr. Ted Aziz, BESc. '60
2004 Dr. G.S. Peter Castle, BESc '61, PhD '69
2005 Mr. Keith Zerebecki, BESc. '72
2006 Mr. Charles Ruigrok, BESc. ’78, M.ESc ‘84

Also from this web page:


.: Allison Stevenson
Spencer Engineering Building, Room 2074
Telephone: (519) 850-2917 Fax: (519) 661-3808