Three Western Engineering faculty members inducted into the Canadian Academy of Engineering

From left to right: Department Chair of Electrical & Computer Engineering and Hydro One Chair in Power Systems Engineering, Tarlochan Sidhu, Western Engineering Dean, Andrew Hrymak, and Electrical Engineering Professor and NSERC/UNENE Senior Industrial Research Chair, Jin Jiang.

What do a leader, a power systems specialist, and a nuclear power plant expert all have in common? They are among forty-eight new Fellows inducted into the Canadian Academy of Engineering.

Western Engineering’s Dean, Andrew Hrymak, Department Chair of Electrical & Computer Engineering and Hydro One Chair in Power Systems Engineering, Tarlochan Sidhu, and Electrical Engineering Professor and NSERC/UNENE Senior Industrial Research Chair, Jin Jiang, were inducted as Fellows into the Canadian Academy of Engineering on June 3, 2010 in conjunction with the Academy’s 2010 Annual General Meeting.

“The Academy welcomes the new Fellows, engineers of outstanding calibre, and looks forward to their participation in the Academy’s activities,” says Canadian Academy of Engineering President Axel Meisen. “While the Academy’s recent work has placed considerable emphasis on the subject of energy, its interests are wide ranging. The new Fellows will help shape the Academy’s future directions and contribute to the sustainable development of Canadian society.”

Andrew Hrymak
Andrew Hrymak has made significant contributions to the literature for large scale computation of fluid flows with free and moving boundary problems, complex rheology, liquid coating technology, mixing and polymer processing. He has also made great contributions to the Canadian engineering profession by serving as director of an interdisciplinary manufacturing research centre and as the founding director of the Walter G. Booth School of Engineering Practice, an interdisciplinary graduate school for professional engineering master’s degrees. Hrymak, who took over as Western’s Engineering dean last year, has held leadership positions in professional organizations, chaired major international conferences and is an editor for two journals. He has been recognized through awards by the Chemical Institute of Canada and the American Institute of Chemical Engineers.

Jin Jiang
Jin Jiang is an internationally recognized expert on fault-tolerant control, and instrumentation and control for nuclear power plants. He has made significant contributions to engineering in many different ways. His research has resulted in a clear understanding between available redundancies and degree of fault-tolerance and his pioneering work in this area has led to improvements in desirable control system architecture and implementation practice in nuclear power plants. Jiang has also contributed extensively in the development of several IEC and ISA standards and has been named as an IAEA technical expert to develop technical guidebooks for nuclear industries. He has received several teaching and research excellence awards in his 21-year career.

Tarlochan Singh Sidhu
Tarlochan Singh Sidhu is a renowned scientist, electrical engineer, educator and technical leader. His distinguished leadership and innovations in the area of power system protection and automation have been recognized nationally and internationally through various awards and fellowships. Through his volunteer work as editor of journals, member of editorial boards and in technical professional societies, he has provided outstanding service to the power system community. His achievements in academia are enormous in both quantity and innovative quality. In addition to numerous scholarly publications, Sidhu has contributed to engineering education in Canada by developing unique educational programs and research laboratories in collaboration with industry for training of future engineers.

The Canadian Academy of Engineering is the national institution through which Canada's most distinguished and experienced engineers provide strategic advice on matters of critical importance to Canada. The Academy is an independent, self-governing and non-profit organization established in 1987. Members of the Academy are nominated and elected by their peers to honorary Fellowships, in view of their distinguished achievements and career-long service to the engineering profession. Fellows of the Academy are committed to ensuring that Canada’s engineering expertise is applied to the benefit of all Canadians.

Also from this web page:


.: Allison Stevenson
Spencer Engineering Building, Room 2074
Phone: 519-850-2917 Fax: 519-661-3808