News and Events
Volume 1 - Edition 4
October 18, 2004
54th Canadian Chemical Engineering Conference
R.S. Jane Memorial Award
Hugo deLasa,
a professor in the Department of  Chemical & Biochemical Engineering and currently the Director of the Chemical Reactor Engineering Centre was presented with the R.S. Jane Memorial Award in recognition of his exceptional achievement in the field of chemical engineering.  
The R.S. Jane Memorial Award was established to commemorate the memory of the late Dr. Robert Stephen Jane who made an outstanding contribution to the chemical profession and the chemical industry in Canada.  It is the premier award of The Canadian Society for Chemical Engineering.
SNC-Lavalin Plant Design Competition
The 2003 - 2004 CBE 497 group was a finalist chosen to present its project, Hydrocracking of Vacuum Gas Oil at the conference.  Congratulations to team members Khaled Abdel-Gawad, Mustafa Al-Sabawi, Wailan Chan and Derek Dainher for placing in the top three.
ISEE Graduate Student Paper Competition
Babak Jajuee, a graduate PhD student from the Department of Chemical & Biochemical Engineering, won the ISEE Graduate Student Paper Competition. for his paper, Mechanism of Surface Renewal Stretch Theory: Applications to Gas-Liquid Mass Transfer.  Jajuee is conducting his PhD research under the supervision of Professor A. Margaritis, and co-supervision of Professors D. Karamanev and M.A. Bergougnou.
  Celebrating 50 Years of Engineering Excellence
Faculty of Engineering Home search engineering Phone Book University of Western Ontario Home Western Engineering Home

Last Updated: 18/10/04