Left to right:  Dr. Paul Davenport, President, The University of Western Ontario; Keith Zerebecki, P.Eng., BESc. '72, L.S. Lauchland Award recipient, and Dr. Franco Berruti, Dean, Western Engineering.

student in chemical lab
Mike Bartlett on worksite
students with virtual reality system
mechanical department staff with hydraulic equipment
mechanical department staff with hydraulic equipment
mechanical department staff with hydraulic equipment

Alumni from all decades attended the annual engineering reception Saturday, October 1, before heading over to T.D. Waterhouse Stadium to watch the football game. In attendance at the engineering reception was Western Engineering alum and L.S. Lauchland Award winner, Keith Zerebecki.

Keith Zerebecki, P.Eng., BESc. ‘72 was presented with the prestigious L.S. Lauchland Engineering Alumni Medal for his many accomplishments and contributions to the profession of engineering, Western Engineering and the community. Dr. Paul Davenport, President, The University of Western Ontario and Dean Franco Berruti presented Keith with the award at the annual engineering Homecoming dinner Saturday evening at The Greek Canadian Club.

“Over the years, Keith has served on the External Advisor Council for Western Engineering and has supported his alma matar by promoting student internship and co-op job placements at General Dynamics Land Systems and by hiring Western Engineering students when they graduate,” says Dean Franco Berruti. “Keith is also a leader in the community through his involvement in the United Way and Junior Achievement. His contributions to the community go far beyond his profession.”

The L.S. Lauchland Award was initiated in 1976 to mark the retirement of Professor L. Stuart Lauchland, past President of the A.P.E.O., the Committee inaugurated a series of medals to be presented annually unless it decides that in a particular year no suitable nominations have been received.

The medal has been awarded 18 times to date to the following recipients:
1977 Dr. Ross Leonard Judd, BESc'58
1979 Dr. Michael Owen Toll, BESc'68
1981 Mr. Carl Erik Kohn, BESC'64
1982 Mr. Steven Killing, BESc'72
1984 Dr. John R. Grace, BESc'65
1986 Mr. Peter C. Maurice, BESc'60
1989 Mr. John Thompson, BESc'66
1990 Mr. Brian Hewat, BESc'59
1991 Mr. Ron Yamada, BESc'64
1994 Mr. Bill Etherington, BESc'63
1997 Mr. Jack McBain, BESc'66
1998 Mr. Henry Yip, BESc '73
1999 Mr. John Westeinde, BESc '62
2001 Mr. John Jardine, BESc '65
2002 Mr. Douglas Muzyka, BESc ‘77
2003 Mr. Ted Aziz, BESc. '60
2004 Dr. G.S. Peter Castle, BESc '61, PhD '69
2005 Mr. Keith Zerebecki, BESc. '72

Also from this web page:


.:Allison Stevenson
Spencer Engineering Building, Room 2074
Telephone: (519) 850-2917 Fax: (519) 661-3808 contactWEATeng.uwo.ca