Graduate Student Recognition

PhD Candidate, Taryn Fournie, wins first-place at Western's 3MT Final

PhD Candidate Taryn Fournie

Civil and Environmental Engineering PhD candidate Taryn Fournie is researching the ability to extract metals and nutrients from sewage sludge, which can then be repurposed for agriculture or new products. [See More]


Civil & Environmental Internal Award Winners

The Graduate Committee in the Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering is pleased to announce the 2019-2020 winners for the following awards:

Alan G. Davenport Memorial Scholarship

Awarded to a full-time graduate student conducting research in the Civil and Environmental Engineering Alan G. Davenport Wind Tunnel Program, based on academic achievement. Preference will be given to an international student, particularly if s/he is from a developing country. This award was established by family and friends of Dr. Alan Garnet Davenport.

Congratulations to this year's winners: Eric Lalonde and Cody Van Der Kooi!   

            Lalonde         Van Der Kooi                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  

Dr. Robert Addie Scholarship in Wind Engineering

Awarded annually to a full-time graduate student pursing a Master's or Doctoral degree in Engineering, based on the academic achievement and research merit. Preference will be given to a student specializing in wind engineering and specifically research involving WindEEE. The award was established with a generous gift from Mrs. Margo Addie, in memory of her late husband Dr. Robert Addie (PhD '78, Engineering).

Congratulations to this year's winner: Nima Ezami!


Graduate Scholarship in Structural Engineering

Awarded to a full-time graduate student in Engineering who is specializing in Structural Engineering based on academic achievement (minimum 80% average).

Congratulations to this year's winner: Xizhong Cui!